Commonwealth Distance Scholarships at the Open University in the UK, 2023

Five fully-funded Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for residents of Eastern African nations have been given to The Open University (OU).

Via modules developed by specialists from The Open University’s Institute of Educational Technology who are leaders in the design and delivery of digital teaching, learning, and assessment, you have a unique opportunity to learn about the theory and practice of online and hybrid teaching. You’ll research how to engage different learners and meet their needs across a variety of industries, using new media, creative pedagogies, and cutting-edge educational technologies.

Concerning the Open University

The Open University (OU) is a British public research university and the largest university in the United Kingdom by the number of students. The majority of the OU’s undergraduate students are based in the United Kingdom and principally study off-campus; many of its courses (both undergraduate and postgraduate) can also be studied anywhere in the world There are also a number of full-time postgraduate research students based on the 48-hectare university campus in Milton Keynes, where they use the OU facilities for research, as well as more than 1,000 members of academic and research staff and over 2,500 administrative, operational, and support staff.

Read also: Argelander Scholarships

Scholarship Details

Eligible Countries: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda.

To Be Taken At (Country): The Master is studied entirely online.

Type: Masters

Value of Award: The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships will cover the full cost of tuition fees but no other expenses.

Duration of Programme: Three years of part-time distance learning, commencing in Nov 2023.

Read also:

Eligibility Criteria for the Scholarship

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to study the Master in Online and Distance Education you must:

  • Be a citizen of, or have been granted refugee status by one of the eligible developing Commonwealth countries listed above, or be a British protected person; and
  • Be permanently and continually resident in one of the eligible developing Commonwealth countries listed above; and
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases; and
  • Be unable to afford to study your chosen course without this scholarship.

Read also: International Sports Excellence Award

Application Deadline: 28th March 2023.

Application Procedures

  • Candidates must apply and secure admission to study an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university in addition to applying for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship via the CSC’s online application system.
  • The CSC is unable to accept any applications that are not submitted via the CSC’s online application system.
  • Candidates are advised to complete and submit their Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship application as early as possible as the CSC’s online application system will be very busy in the days leading up to the application deadline.
  • Applications must include supporting documentation to be eligible.

For More Information Visit the Official Website





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *